SoFi has put a yield-bearing bank deposit on a blockchain. The company launched SOFIE, a token where each unit represents $1 held on deposit at SoFi Bank, earns 4.40% APY, and carries FDIC insurance on the underlying balance, according to reporting from Decrypt and an announcement circulated by WatcherGuru on October 22, 2026. The token can also be converted into a stablecoin.
That combination is the part worth slowing down on. Most tokens that move like dollars on a blockchain are stablecoins, and under US rules a payment stablecoin does not pay the holder interest. SoFi's product sidesteps that by tokenizing the deposit itself rather than issuing a stablecoin, so the 4.40% yield comes from the bank account, not from the token wrapper.
A deposit in a token wrapper, not a stablecoin
The mechanics are straightforward once you separate the two layers. The money sits in a SoFi Bank account. SOFIE is a claim on that balance, recorded on-chain, that can be held, moved, or redeemed. Because the dollars never leave an FDIC-insured bank, the standard deposit insurance applies to the underlying funds. The token is the transport layer.
This is a different design from the stablecoins most crypto users already hold. Circle's USDC and Tether's USDT are backed by reserves, but the issuer keeps the yield on those reserves rather than passing it to holders. The recently finalized federal rulebook for payment stablecoins under the GENIUS Act, which the OCC completed earlier this month, keeps that line in place: a compliant payment stablecoin does not pay interest. A tokenized deposit is a bank product, so it plays by banking rules instead, and banks pay interest on deposits.
A 4.4% on-chain dollar undercuts the stablecoin trade-off
For a holder, the pitch is simple: a dollar you can move like crypto that also pays close to a savings-account rate. That undercuts the core trade-off of parking money in a conventional stablecoin, where you give up yield for programmability and settlement speed.
The number has context. SoFi is offering 4.40% APY at a time when the Fear and Greed index sits at 49, a neutral reading, and major tokens are soft across the board. As of October 22, 2026, Bitcoin traded at $81,711, down 2.1% on the day, with Ether at $2,400, off 2.6%. In a flat-to-down tape, a 4.40% on-chain dollar with bank insurance is the kind of product that attracts cash sitting on the sidelines rather than chasing price.
It also lands amid a wider institutional push into tokenized cash and treasuries. JPMorgan brought its JPM Coin onto public Ethereum for institutional clients, MoneyGram built a consumer app that hides the crypto behind a stablecoin, and Coinbase has been pushing stablecoins into local banks through Thunes. SoFi's angle is distinct because it is a chartered bank tokenizing its own deposit base rather than wrapping a third-party stablecoin.
The parts SoFi has not spelled out
The announcement leaves open questions that matter before anyone treats SOFIE as a USDC substitute. The reporting does not specify which blockchain the token runs on, how redemption to a stablecoin is priced, or whether there is a spread on that conversion. It also does not detail transfer limits, eligibility, or whether non-SoFi wallets can hold the token.
FDIC insurance is worth reading precisely, too. Deposit insurance covers the money in the bank account up to the statutory limit if the bank fails. It does not cover losses from a smart-contract bug, a bridge exploit, a lost private key, or a depeg event on the stablecoin a holder converts into. The insurance attaches to the deposit, not to the on-chain representation or anything that happens after conversion. For spending use, the token's value proposition only holds while you are holding SOFIE itself.
Relevance for cards and spending
For anyone funding a crypto card from a dollar balance, a yield-bearing tokenized deposit is interesting precisely because it does not sit idle. The dominant pattern with stablecoin spending cards is to hold USDC or USDT and earn nothing on the float between top-up and swipe. A deposit token paying 4.40% changes that math, at least in theory, if a card program ever supports it as a funding source.
That support does not exist today, and nothing in the announcement points to a card integration. SOFIE is a bank deposit product first. Whether it becomes spendable rails depends on partners choosing to settle in it, which is a separate decision from SoFi minting the token. For now, the practical read is narrow: a US bank has issued an insured, interest-bearing dollar on a blockchain, and that is a template other banks can copy more easily than they can launch a stablecoin.
Overview
SoFi launched SOFIE, a token representing $1 on deposit at SoFi Bank that earns 4.40% APY, carries FDIC insurance on the underlying balance, and converts to a stablecoin. The design tokenizes a bank deposit rather than issuing a stablecoin, which is how it pays interest where a GENIUS Act payment stablecoin cannot. Key details, including the chain, redemption pricing, and any spending integration, were not disclosed at launch. The insurance covers the bank deposit, not smart-contract or conversion risk.



